Big Decisions = Big Changes

Leave a comment

March 27, 2013 by Gina

Our family has recently made some big decisions and that means big changes are headed our way.  For the past four years, I’ve mostly been a stay-at-home-mom, working part-time and birthing three children.  My husband, Brian, has been on active duty with the U.S. Army during this period.  He’s an Army reservist but has been doing the “Army thing” full-time since we moved to Minneapolis six years ago.

This arrangement has worked well for us over the past few years, but recently several things have changed:

  • the Army isn’t giving reservists long-term orders as often or readily as they have in the past
  • Brian’s back has been out or really bad over the past 2-3 months
  • I’ve had several friends and former colleagues recommend job opportunities

So a few weeks ago we had a conversation about the possibility of me returning to work full-time and Brian becoming a stay-at-home-dad.  He’d still do his reserve thing one weekend a month and 2-3 weeks a year, but his primary job would be to raise our three boys.  We decided we’d see what career opportunities were out there for me and go from there.

I dusted off my resume, reworked it a bit, asked for advice and finally connected with my network of friends and colleagues to let them know I would be entering the workforce again.  I wasn’t sure what would happen.  After being home with my children for four years, it’s easy to doubt your skills, expertise and confidence.  I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted to do or what opportunities were available in the marketplace.

Thankfully, I have a terrific network of people and I’m happy (and a bit anxious) to say that I have found a tremendous career in just two short weeks of looking!!  I had no idea this would happen so quickly.  I’m back in healthcare sales and looking forward to the challenges and complexities of this new role.

I know it will be a BIG transition for our family and I’ll have to give up some of the control which is hard for me to do.  Brian will be responsible for our home, food, cleaning, kids and their activities.  He’ll have to develop his own support system of other SAHPs (stay-at-home-parents) and discover what works best for him.  I’ll have to focus on my new career and the many demands that come with it.  I’m excited and nervous but ready to embark on this new journey!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

